TTT – Favorites of 2017 So Far

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This feature has a different (usually) book related topic each week, and the goal is to compose a list of ten things that correspond to the topic!

This week’s theme is:  Best Books You’ve Read In 2017 So Far

It has been a while (stupid unplanned hiatus) since I did a Top Ten Tuesday prompt and oh, what a wonderful topic to come back to! Honestly, who doesn’t love raving about books that they’ve enjoyed recently? I’m just going to get right into it…

ONE. TWO. THREE. FOUR. Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Fairest by Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles series is blowing me away! I am so happy that I decided to wait until the whole series was published before binge reading them – I have no idea how people waited in between books. The twisted fairy tale aspects are so fun, the story lines are captivating, and the character building is insanely well done. I’m about 65% done with Winter and have Stars Above cued up for right after. Then I’ll get a tub of ice cream and some sad movies to combat the inevitable book hangover I’m going to have.

FIVE. Happiness for Beginners by Katherine Center

I read this book at just the right time – when I was in a funk and needed a little bit of motivation about the world and living life to the fullest. This is an adult fiction / women’s literature novel, which I’ve been reading less and less of in favor of YA, but this one really captivated me. The story was inspiring, I fell in love with the characters, and it was such an easy read that inspired me to travel, be adventurous, and take advantage of the life that I’ve been given. Here’s to hoping I can do something half as thrilling as what went down in this book…

 

SIX. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

I could probably talk about this book for hours. This is a book that I strongly feel every human in this World should read. It is thought provoking, insightful, utterly heartbreaking, but so, so necessary. It also has one of the best family dynamics that I have ever read about in a book, which was refreshing as hell considering that broken families are quite a trend in YA. Mr. Carter is my favorite character of 2017 so far.

SEVEN. Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

Is Jeff Zentner the new John Green in terms of punching you in the chest and ripping your heart out? My vote is yes. Although this book is very emotional, it is also beautiful and outstanding. A lot of books try to tackle the topic of loss and grief, but I’ve got to admit that I feel Jeff Zentner has really hit it out of the park with this book. I appreciate how raw and real the representation of loss and grief were, and how it was represented in different ways for each character.  

EIGHT. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Again, be prepared for all kinds of emotions with this book. I adored the unique and interesting characters in this one, I adored the friendship that they shared, and I adored all of the lessons and messages throughout this book. It offered so much in terms friendship such as of loving your friends, being there for your friends, and accepting your friends. It also speaks a lot to accepting yourself, your history, who you are, and who you want to be. Overall, just phenomenal.

NINE. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

I was nervous that I wasn’t going to love this book as much as everyone else has been loving it, but WHEW, I totally did, so crisis averted. This twisty monster book (FYI – monsters are usually not my cup of tea when it comes to book, but they absolutely work in this one) had amazing world and character building, lots of plot twists to keep me invested, and an ending that utterly destroyed me but got me even more excited for the next book in the series (which I haven’t gotten to yet – but at least it’s published so therefore no long wait)!  

TEN. Caraval by Stephanie Garber

This freaking book! I adored that I had no idea what was happening for the duration of the book. Caraval, the actual setting of the story, I think aided a lot to that because literally anything could be possible, and things just kept changing and getting more twisty and confusing. Even when I thought I knew what was going on, I totally didn’t. The ending was pretty magical too, and by magical I mean infuriating because CLIFFHANGER and I WANT BOOK NUMBER TWO RIGHT NOW PLEASE.


So Tell Me

What are some of your favorite books that you’ve read this year?

9 thoughts on “TTT – Favorites of 2017 So Far

  1. bookgirlsecrets says:

    I’m totally with you on binging series once all of the books have been published. I always wait for all of the books to come out before starting a series, I couldn’t do it any other way! I would forget too much waiting for the next book to come out, and inevitably end up re-reading the previous books, and let’s be honest, who has time for that? Marissa Meyers has been on my radar for awhile, but I haven’t read any of hers yet. I think I’ll check out Jeff Zentner now, too! Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hayley McNeil says:

    Love this! My favourite books I’ve red this year are: Small great things, Last seen alive, Local girl missing, With out a trace & The husbands secret. ❤ xx

    Like

Leave a comment