TTT – 2016 Releases Not Read

Man – Am I the only one who is REALLY struggling to get back to normal after the holidays? I could have sworn that I had this post scheduled… sorry it’s a day late 🙂

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This feature has a different (usually) book related topic each week, and the goal is to compose a list of ten things that correspond to the topic!

This week’s theme is:  2016 Releases I Totally Meant to Read but Kinda Sorta Haven’t Yet

As they say, “the road to Hell is paved with good intentions.” I had all intentions of reading these books that were published last year sometime during the actual year that they were published in, but as you know *insert an excuse from the below list here* …

  • Adult jobs can insist that you actually do work that isn’t reading books that don’t relate to your job
  • Husbands can demand that you be social and speak to real, breathing humans sometimes *shudder*
  • Other books can come along and you must read them now or else you won’t have anything to talk to your book loving friends about because they’ve all read the latest and greatest and you haven’t
  • Books can get lost in the black hole that is called a TBR pile
  • Sometimes you must feed yourself because food is basically life, only outranked by books, reading, and puppies
  • You need sleep or else your brain stops working and you can’t comprehend the words that you’re sort of seeing but not really seeing because your eyes are tired and have stopped reading

The list could go on and on and they’re all valid. But anyways, on to my list of books that I truly, pink promise, had all intentions of reading during 2016, but just didn’t. Here’s to hoping I can get to them in 2017!

One. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Two. Replica by Lauren Oliver

Three. The Fever Code by James Dashner

Four. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Five. Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

Six. The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

Seven. And I Darken by Kiersten White

Eight. The Girls by Emma Cline * To be fair, I did start this one, but I just wasn’t in the mood for this type of book and wasn’t enjoying it or giving it the attention it deserved, so I abandoned ship.

Nine. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Ten. Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld

Eleven. Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

Twelve. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Thirteen. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Fourteen. Starflight by Melissa Landers

Fifteen. The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry

I must admit, this isn’t even the full list of 2016 releases that I wanted to read and didn’t get to. This is just the list of the books that I feel most shameful about. As my penance, I invite everyone to yell at me and tell me how terrible I am for not having read these books yet. Go ahead, I deserve it.


So Tell Me

Please help me prioritize which of these books should move to the top of my ACTUALLY READ THESE SOON, KAYLA pile.

Leave a comment