Quotebook – # 8

Quotebook

I’m not the type of person to physically write in a book (it pains me!), but I am a “flagger”. There are so many talented authors out there that have an incredible way with words, and reading them once just isn’t enough for me. So, I will highlight quotes or sections in an e-book, or literally put a little flag sticky on a page while I’m reading. I’ll then revisit my flags or highlights and write down the memorable words in a notebook. In this feature, I plan to share some of my favorite quotes with you! Up today:

You endure what is unbearable, and you bear it.

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Short, simple, and perfect! In the book, this quote is stated when characters are speaking about death and how to handle losing someone that you love. As someone who has lost more people than she ever should have at the age of 27, I can honestly say that this quote is spot on for that situation. When dealing with loss, it’s painful, it’s heartbreaking, and it’s utterly unbearable, but the only thing you can do is bear it. It’s not fun, it’s not pretty, but you do it, and things get better with time. Moving away from the morbid, this quote is perfect for a lot of scenarios, actually. For example, I’m personally trying to get back into a regular workout routine, and it’s hard. I’m uncomfortable, I’m way out of shape, and I want to quit because I’m not as good as I want to be. But, I’m bearing it, no matter how hard it seems, because I know that it will get better. So, when times get tough, and whatever you’re dealing with is unbearable, just stay strong, bear it, and you’ll come out so much better on the other side. Not your usual “inspirational” quote, but a good one to refer to.

Leave a comment