Stocking my Shelves – April 22, 16

Stocking My Shelves

I’ve had myself grounded from purchasing new books for the last few months for a few reasons:

  1. My husband and I are in the process of moving, and I’ve realized I have A LOT of stuff, and while I consider my books to be some of my most prized possessions, I still didn’t want to add to the already huge collection prior to being settled into our new place
  2. My TBR list is SO FREAKING LONG and it’s been nagging me for a while that I just can’t read as fast as I can acquire books, so I’ve been trying to focus on reading what I’ve got before I purchase more

Packing Cyring

It’s obviously been quite the struggle, and I’m starting to have major FOMO (fear of missing out) while I’m reading about all these amazing books that are being released that I don’t have.

This week, I rebelled against my own grounding. Shh… don’t tell my husband. It’s been a busy week with a lot of traveling for my other life (aka work), I have been grumpy, and I just couldn’t take it anymore! Plus, I just donated around 50 books to my local library, so I am still under what I used to have, even with these few additions! 🙂

Stock 4-22-16

  • Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld. A modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice and it’s written by Curtis Sittenfeld? Sign me up! Prep is one of my all-time favorite books, so I cannot wait to dive into this!
  • The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner. GAH! Not buying this book has really been killing me. It’s been on my TBR list for just about forever (okay, not forever, but since the second I read anything about it).
  • Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke. This one has gotten some mixed reviews based on everything that I’ve read. It seems like a such a suspenseful read though, a really unique story, so I can’t wait to read it for myself and be my own judge!
  • The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty. I haven’t been reading as much adult fiction lately, but after seeing this pop-up on a list of books that will have you basically peeing your pants in anticipation, I just couldn’t stop myself when I saw it on sale for less than $10. If this is anything like Gone Girl, which honestly I’m not sure why I’m comparing it to that book because I really have no idea if it’s actually comparable, then I’m going to be totally into this.
  • Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw. I’ve come to the realization recently that I seriously lack funny books in my life. This one has gotten so many praises and such awesome reviews, it’s the perfect candidate to add some laughing into my library.

So Tell Me

What books have you added to your shelves lately? 

Leave a comment